top of page
IMG_5368_edited.jpg

Clover in barley

sowing

Sep 2020

Fungicide treatment and infiltration

Spring 2021

July 2021

harvest

Schlag Heide 2020/21

Sowing

Winter barley of the "Galileoo" variety was sown in September 2020 in the clover established in spring with spring barley as the previous crop. The Primera DMC seed drill from Amazone, which had been adapted to the test, was used. The plots with clover developed comparable to the conventional variant.

Anker Aussaat

Winter

The wet and cold winter without a persistently closed snow cover led to severe frost damage, since the "pumice soil" that occurs in parts of the Westerwald is frozen high together with the barley and the roots have been torn off. In the clover variant, the clover was able to prevent this phenomenon!

Anker Winter

Winter barley without clover

The frozen ground has torn off the roots of the barley.

Winter barley with clover as live mulch

Winter barley is firmly rooted in the soil.

Spring

In the spring, the persistently wet weather meant, that leaf diseases such as Rynchosporium and Ramularia quickly developed in the barley.

To test whether the clover can reduce infestation, application windows were set up with different fungicide strategies

Strategy 1: no fungicide treatment

Strategy 2: customary (leaf and ear treatment)

Strategy 3: ear treatment only

Anker Frühjahr

Another focus of the investigations in barley was in the area of water balance. In addition to the weekly measurements of the soil moisture with the installed measuring sleeves, extensive infiltration measurements were also carried out. The water absorption capacity (infiltration rate) of the soil became sadly explosive due to the flood events on the Ahr and in other regions of Germany. 

Harvest

The harvest took place on July 20th with precision threshing and, regardless of the clover, turned out to be rather mixed throughout the farm. The variant only ear treatment without clover achieved the highest average yield. A significant difference between living mulch and the usual practice without clover could only be determined in this variant. The variants with clover achieved higher starch levels, a higher thousand grain weight and lower protein levels. The detailed test results are available on request.

Anker Ernte
bottom of page

IMG_5368_edited.jpg

Klee in der Gerste

Aussaat

September 2020

Fungizidbehandlung und Infiltration

Frühjahr 2021

Juli 2021

Ernte

Schlag Heide 2020/21

Aussaat

Die Wintergerste der Sorte „Galileoo“wurde im September 2020 in den im  Frühjahr mit der Vorfrucht Sommergerste etablierten Klee gesät. Zum Einsatz kam die an den Versuch angepasste Sämaschine Primera DMC der Fa. Amazone. Die Parzellen mit Klee entwickelten sich vergleichbar mit der konventionellen Variante.

 

Winter

Der nasskalte Winter ohne anhaltend geschlossene Schneedecke führte zu starken Frostschäden, da der im Westerwald partiell vorkommende „Bimsboden“ mitsamt der Gerste hochgefroren ist und die Wurzeln abgerissen sind. In der Kleevariante hat der Klee dieses Phänomen verhindern können!

 

Wintergerste ohne Klee

Der hochgefrorene Boden hat die Wurzeln der Gerste abgerissen.

Wintergerste mit Klee als Lebendmulch

Die Wintergerste ist fest im Boden verwurzelt.

Frühjahr

Im Frühjahr führte die weiterhin feuchte Witterung dazu, dass sich schnell Blattkrankheiten wie Rynchosporium und Ramularia in der Gerste ausbildeten.

Um zu testen, ob der Klee einem Befall vermindern kann, wurden Applikationsfenster mit unterschiedlichen Fungizidstrategien eingerichtet

Strategie 1: keine Fungizidbehandlung

Strategie 2: Betriebsüblich (Blatt- und Ährenbehandlung)

Strategie 3: nur Ährenbehandlung

 

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Untersuchungen in der Gerste lag im Bereich Wasserhaushalt. So wurden neben den wöchentlichen Messungen der Bodenfeuchte mit den installierten Messhülsen auch umfangreiche Infiltrationsmessungen durchgeführt. Die Wasseraufnahmefähigkeit (Infiltrationsrate) der Böden bekam durch die Hochwasserereignisse an der Ahr und in anderen Regionen Deutschlands traurige Brisanz. 

Ernte

Die Ernte erfolgte am 20. Juli im Exaktdrusch und fiel unabhängig vom Klee im gesamten Betrieb eher durchwachsen aus. Die Variante nur Ährenbehandlung ohne Klee erzielte den höchsten durchschnittlichen Ertrag. Ein signifikanter Unterschied zwischen Lebendmulch und betriebsüblich ohne Klee konnte nur in dieser Variante festgestellt werden. Die Varianten mit Klee erzielten höhere Stärkegehalte, ein höheres Tausendkorngewicht und geringere Proteingehalte. Die detaillierten Versuchsergebnisse sind auf Anfrage zu erhalten.